Press release - 01 October 2021 Zurich

Practical spit test for a quick certificate at the start of the autumn holidays

Swiss start-up launches spit test for home use

On 1 October 2021, the start-up Testasy will launch one of Europe's first all-round test procedures that allow people to give saliva samples from home in order to obtain an EU QR certificate. The video-monitored PCR tests, which in Switzerland are analyzed via a so-called pooling approach, were already introduced in other EU countries in April 2021 and will now be launched in Switzerland just in time for the autumn holidays.

"Certificate and ID please" - two years ago, no one would have expected this sentence when entering a gym or a restaurant. In the meantime, compulsory testing is the order of the day for the unvaccinated - and for those who have been vaccinated to travel. Especially at the start of the autumn holidays, however, the test centres are reaching their limits. In many places, no more Corona test dates are available until mid-October.

Easier to plan, easier to travel

Swiss start-up Testasy recognized the need for more efficient testing strategies back in November 2020 and has been tinkering with safe and reliable remote PCR diagnostics ever since. "When I wasn't allowed to get on a plane because I didn't have the right certification, I realised that we desperately needed innovation and technology in the travel industry," says Dr Michel Bielecki, co-founder, and CEO of Testasy. The lack of reliable information, constantly changing measures and the difficulty of verifying requirements have turned what was once a pleasant travel planning experience into a complex bureaucratic maze, says Dr Michel Bielecki.

Practical tests from the pharmacy, analysed in Basel.

Testasy's PCR solution is a joint project between the Swiss medical technology company GobiX (Testasy's parent company), the service laboratory Biolytix AG, the pharmacy chain Dr. Bähler Dropa and the digital practice docstation. "While we developed the entire IT infrastructure and security mechanisms and carry out the telemedical consultations in cooperation with docstation, Biolytix takes care of the molecular biological analysis, and the pharmacy chain Dr. Bähler DROPA with its Bahnhof Apotheke Drogerie Basel takes care of the logistics. The offer is to be expanded in other locations of their group of 70 pharmacies after the pilot is completed," explains Dr Michel Bielecki.

Dr. Bähler Dropa: "With the low-threshold access to health services and the attractive opening hours in our pharmacies, we complete the all-round testing procedure of Testasy. Thanks to the innovative testing concept, we have a safe and fast offer for our unvaccinated customers with maximum convenience without an unpleasant nasopharyngeal swab."

Already at the beginning of the pandemic, GobiX worked with Biolytix to develop 3D-printed diagnostic material needed for testing procedures. While GobiX worked with ETH on saliva collection devices, the specialised laboratory for molecular biological and microbiological analytics also pioneered their Covid PCR pooling method last year.

"As a service laboratory, the customer is at the center of our attention. If we can help to improve the test offer, everyone wins. With the Testasy team we have found a partner who meets the customers where they are most comfortable, in the comfort of their own living room". Adrian Härri, CEO of Biolytix AG explains further: "The real-time PCR pooling method helps to reduce costs for the individual and at the same time has a much higher sensitivity than antigen rapid tests".

Immediately in Basel, soon nationwide

The Testasy solution is currently only available in the Basel-Stadt and Basel-Landschaft region - with samples being dispensed at the Bahnhof Apotheke. In the coming weeks, the team plans to expand its offer to Zurich, Bern, Geneva, and Lausanne. "Our goal is to offer a sustainable testing strategy during ongoing vaccinations that allow people to go about their daily activities safely," says Dr Adrian Palma of docstation.

How does Testasy work?

You can either order the PCR test kit online on the Testasy website or buy it at a pharmacy from the Dr. Bähler Dropa network (currently only at the Bahnhof Apotheke Basel). After receiving the kit, there is the option of taking the saliva sample directly at the pharmacy under the guidance of a healthcare professional - or at home as part of an online consultation. Those who opt for the latter scan the QR code on the packaging at home to arrange a telemedical consultation. During the video call, one is guided through the process step by step by a medical professional. Once the sample has been taken, it must be handed in at the Bahnhof Apotheke - there is also the option of having it delivered directly to the laboratory by courier. This service is available immediately during business hours on weekdays and around the clock by appointment - starting at 90 Swiss francs. The Covid certificate is valid for 72 hours after sampling. If submitted by 2 p.m., a certificate is guaranteed on the same day. From 5 October, Testasy will also offer tests for companies in cooperation with Orphanbiotec AG.

About GobiX GmbH

GobiX is a Swiss MedTech start-up founded in April 2020 to address the shortage of COVID-19 swabs used for testing using 3D printing technology. During the year, GobiX specialised in 3D printed diagnostic medical devices. Its developments include a CE-certified saliva collection device developed in collaboration with ETH. Since November 2021, GobiX has been focusing on innovative ways to facilitate testing procedures, and launched its subsidiary Testasy in April 2021. Testasy is currently operational in two EU countries and entered the Swiss market in July. In August 2021, Testasy became an industry partner of antigen manufacturer Abbott, which supports Testasy in its venture.

Contact: Hadrien Le Berre, +41 78 915 34 11, hadrien@gobix.ch

About Dr. Bähler Dropa:

What began as a pharmacy in Steffisburg has grown over the past decades into a leading Swiss healthcare provider. The Bernese family business unites its own pharmacies and drugstores as well as locations of franchise partners under one roof. Today, the network comprises almost 120 locations throughout German-speaking Switzerland.

About Biolytix:

Biolytix AG, a specialist in molecular biological and microbiological analyses, was founded in 1998 and is headquartered in Witterswil, Switzerland. Biolytix AG is ISO 17025 accredited, has an operating license from SwissMedic, and offers a wide range of services: from microbiological water tests to gene expression studies for the pharmaceutical industry. Biolytix is financially independent and privately owned. https://www.biolytix.ch/

Contact: Marco Ferraro, +41 61 725 20 70 / mailbox@biolytix.ch

About docstation

After a successful launch in Stettbach in March 2021, docstation is already opening a second health centre in the heart of Central Switzerland in Emmen in January 2022. The innovative docstation business model combines first-class medicine with advanced technology to ensure the best possible medical care for patients. docstation does this by using comprehensive digital solutions for health management with the aim of a largely paperless practice. From online appointments, the digital check-up, online medication ordering conveniently from home to video consultations, everything is networked with the practice management software. This means that all data is available to the patients at all times. This gives doctors more time for their patients.

Communiqué de presse - 01 octobre 2021 Zurich

Test pratique salivaire pour un certificat rapide à la rentrée des vacances d'automne

Une start-up suisse lance un test salivaire à usage domestique

Le 1er octobre 2021, la start-up Testasy lancera l'une des premières procédures de test complet en Europe, qui permettra aux personnes de donner des échantillons de salive depuis leur domicile afin d'obtenir un certificat QR. Les tests PCR sous surveillance vidéo, qui en Suisse sont évalués selon une approche dite de pooling, ont déjà été introduits dans d'autres pays européens en avril 2021 et seront maintenant lancés en Suisse juste à temps pour les vacances d'automne.

"Certificat et pièce d'identité s'il vous plaît" - il y a deux ans, personne ne se serait attendu à entendre cette phrase en entrant dans un gymnase ou un restaurant. En attendant, les tests obligatoires pour les non-vaccinés - et pour les voyages, en partie aussi pour les vaccinés - sont à l'ordre du jour. Cependant, surtout à la rentrée des vacances d'automne, les centres de test atteignent leurs limites. Dans de nombreux endroits, il n'y a plus de dates disponibles avant la mi-octobre.

Plus facile à planifier, plus facile à voyager

La start-up suisse Testasy a reconnu la nécessité de stratégies de test plus efficaces en novembre 2020 et a depuis élaboré des diagnostics PCR à distance sûrs et fiables. "Lorsque je n'ai pas été autorisé à prendre l'avion parce que je n'avais pas la bonne certification, j'ai compris que nous avions désespérément besoin d'innovation et de technologie dans le secteur du voyage", explique le Dr Michel Bielecki, cofondateur et PDG de Testasy. Le manque d'informations fiables, l'évolution constante des mesures et la difficulté de vérifier les exigences ont transformé ce qui était autrefois une expérience agréable de planification de voyage en un labyrinthe bureaucratique complexe, selon le Dr Michel Bielecki.

Tests pratiques de la pharmacie, analysés à Bâle.

La solution PCR de Testasy est un projet commun entre la société suisse de technologie médicale GobiX (société mère de Testasy), le laboratoire de services Biolytix AG, la chaîne de pharmacies Dr. Bähler Dropa et le cabinet médical docstation. "Tandis que nous avons développé toute l'infrastructure informatique et les mécanismes de sécurité et que nous réalisons les consultations télémédicales en coopération avec docstation, Biolytix se charge de l'analyse biologique moléculaire et la chaîne de pharmacies Dr. Bähler DROPA avec la Bahnhof Apotheke Drogerie Basel se charge de la logistique. Une fois le projet pilote terminé, l'offre sera étendue à d'autres sites de leur groupe de 70 pharmacies", explique le Dr Michel Bielecki.

Dr. Bähler Dropa : "Avec l'accès aux services de santé à bas seuil et les horaires d'ouverture attractifs de nos pharmacies, nous complétons la procédure de test complet de Testasy. Grâce à ce concept de test innovant, nous disposons d'une offre sûre et rapide pour nos clients non vaccinés, avec un maximum de commodité, sans prélèvement nasopharyngé désagréable."

Dès le début de la pandémie, GobiX a travaillé avec Biolytix pour développer du matériel de diagnostic imprimé en 3D, nécessaire aux procédures de test. Alors que GobiX a travaillé avec l'ETH sur les dispositifs de collecte de salive, le laboratoire spécialisé dans la biologie moléculaire et l'analyse microbiologique a également lancé l'année dernière sa méthode de pooling Covid PCR.

"En tant que laboratoire de services, nous nous concentrons sur le client, donc si nous pouvons contribuer à améliorer la gamme de tests, tout le monde y gagne. Avec l'équipe de Testasy, nous avons trouvé un partenaire qui rencontre les clients là où ils sont le plus à l'aise, dans le confort de leur propre salon." Adrian Härri, PDG de Biolytix AG, explique encore : "La méthode de regroupement par PCR en temps réel permet de réduire les coûts pour l'individu et présente en même temps une sensibilité beaucoup plus élevée que les tests rapides antigéniques".

Immédiatement à Bâle, bientôt dans tout le pays

La solution Testasy n'est actuellement disponible que dans la région de Bâle-Ville et de Bâle-Campagne - les échantillons étant distribués à l'Apotheke Bahnhof. Dans les semaines à venir, l'équipe prévoit d'étendre son offre à Zurich, Berne, Genève et Lausanne. "Notre objectif est de proposer une stratégie de test durable pendant les vaccinations en cours, qui permette aux gens de vaquer à leurs occupations quotidiennes en toute sécurité", explique le Dr Adrian Palma de docstation.

Comment fonctionne Testasy?

Vous pouvez soit commander le kit de test PCR en ligne sur le site Testasy, soit l'acheter dans une pharmacie du réseau Dropa du Dr Bähler ((actuellement seulement Bahnhof Apotheke Basel). Après avoir reçu le kit, il est possible de prélever un échantillon de salive directement à la pharmacie sous la direction d'un professionnel de la santé - ou à domicile dans le cadre d'une consultation en ligne. Ceux qui optent pour cette dernière solution scannent chez eux le code QR figurant sur l'emballage pour organiser une consultation télémédicale. Pendant l'appel vidéo, un professionnel de la santé vous guide pas à pas dans le processus. Une fois l'échantillon prélevé, il doit être remis à l'Apotheke Bahnhof - il est également possible de le faire livrer directement au laboratoire par un coursier. Ce service est disponible immédiatement pendant les heures d'ouverture en semaine et 24 heures sur 24 sur rendez-vous - à partir de 90 francs suisses. Le certificat Covid est valable pendant 72 heures après le prélèvement. S'il est soumis avant 14 heures, un certificat est garanti le jour même. A partir du 5 octobre, Testasy proposera également des tests pour les entreprises en collaboration avec Orphanbiotec AG.

À propos de GobiX GmbH

GobiX est une start-up MedTech suisse fondée en avril 2020 pour répondre à la pénurie d'écouvillons COVID-19 utilisés pour les tests en utilisant la technologie d'impression 3D. Au cours de l'année, GobiX s'est spécialisé dans les dispositifs médicaux de diagnostic imprimés en 3D. Ses développements incluent un dispositif de collecte de salive certifié CE, développé en collaboration avec l'ETH. Depuis novembre 2021, GobiX se concentre sur des moyens innovants pour faciliter les procédures de test, et a lancé sa filiale Testasy en avril 2021. Testasy est actuellement opérationnel dans deux pays de l'UE et est entré sur le marché suisse en juillet. En août 2021, Testasy est devenu un partenaire industriel du fabricant d'antigènes Abbott, qui soutient Testasy dans son entreprise.

Kontakt: Hadrien Le Berre, +41 78 915 34 11, hadrien@gobix.ch

À propos du Dr. Bähler Dropa:

Ce qui n'était au départ qu'une pharmacie à Steffisburg est devenu, au cours des dernières décennies, un fournisseur de soins de santé de premier plan en Suisse. L'entreprise familiale bernoise réunit sous un même toit ses propres pharmacies et drogueries ainsi que les sites des partenaires franchisés. Aujourd'hui, le réseau compte près de 120 sites dans toute la Suisse alémanique.

À propos de Biolytix:

Biolytix AG, spécialiste des analyses de biologie moléculaire et de microbiologie, a été fondée en 1998 et son siège est à Witterswil, en Suisse. Biolytix AG est accréditée ISO 17025, dispose d'une licence d'exploitation de SwissMedic et offre une large gamme de services : des tests microbiologiques de l'eau aux études d'expression génétique pour l'industrie pharmaceutique. Biolytix est financièrement indépendant et privé. https://www.biolytix.ch/

Contact: Marco Ferraro, +41 61 725 20 70 / mailbox@biolytix.ch

À propos de docstation

Après un lancement réussi à Stettbach en mars 2021, docstation ouvre déjà un deuxième centre de santé au cœur de la Suisse centrale, à Emmen, en janvier 2022. Le modèle commercial innovant de docstation associe une médecine de premier ordre à une technologie de pointe afin de garantir les meilleurs soins médicaux possibles aux patients. Pour ce faire, docstation utilise des solutions numériques complètes pour la gestion de la santé, avec pour objectif une pratique largement dépourvue de papier. Qu'il s'agisse des rendez-vous en ligne, du bilan de santé numérique, de la commande de médicaments en ligne depuis chez soi ou des consultations vidéo, tout est mis en réseau avec le logiciel de gestion du cabinet. Cela signifie que toutes les données sont disponibles pour les patients à tout moment. Les médecins ont ainsi plus de temps à consacrer à leurs patients.